Meet our 4th Annual Arthur Pilla Young Scientist Award Winner, Dr. Ilaria Liorni

Pictured from left to right are BEMS President René De-Seze, Ilaria Liorni, PhD, Astrid Pilla, Founder of the Arthur Pilla Research Foundation, and Azadeh

Congratulations to Dr. Ilaria Liorni, winner of the 4th annual Arthur Pilla Young Scientist Award. This award recognizes outstanding achievements by young researchers in the field of bioelectromagnetics. The Biolectromagnetics Society is on of the few research communities that considers PhD students to be an active part of the community and give them the possibility to present their own research and to be awarded for it.  

Dr. Liorni’s contributions to the field of bioelectromagnetics have been exceptional. Her research has focused on the characterization of electromagnetic fields and their effects on the human body, with a particular emphasis on the use of wearable devices and exposure assessment. Her work has helped to establish the foundation for the safe and effective use of wearable technology and has contributed significantly to our understanding of the effects of electromagnetic fields on human health.

The Arthur Pilla Young Scientist Award is named after the late Dr. Arthur Pilla, a pioneer in the field of bioelectromagnetics. Dr. Pilla was a highly respected researcher and educator who made significant contributions to the field throughout his career. This award was established to honor his legacy and to recognize the outstanding achievements of young researchers who are carrying on his work.

The award was presented to Dr. Liorni during the joint annual meeting of The Bio-electromagnetics Society and EBEA, the European Bioelectromagnetics Association. The meeting brought together researchers from around the world in the city of Montpellier, France to discuss the latest developments in bioelectromagnetics research.

We congratulate Dr. Liorni on this well-deserved honor and look forward to seeing the impact that her future research will have on the field of bioelectromagnetics. We also extend our thanks to The Bio-electromagnetics Society and EBEA for their continued support of young researchers in this field. Find out more at BIOEM

Published, All rights reserved, 2019